Duke Wiki  logo
Blog

Blog from June, 2010

Vermicomposting bins for sale

Two vermicomposting bins for sale!!  Healthy colonies of red wrigglers, with compost/castings.  $20 per bin.

Made from 10-gal Rubbermaid totes.  Colonies have been active since October 2009 (from Scrap Exchange workshop), and fed with mostly organic fruit/veggie leftovers and shredded soy-ink newspaper bedding.  Add some cool pets and green habits to your Nich School household!! 

Contact bjl8 or kam54.  Available sometime in July.

House for Sale

I'm selling my lovely house in Durham: 907 Exum Street.

This house is great for a first-time (or several-time) homeowner.  Why rent when you could buy?

It's a 3br/2ba house with a wrap around porch and vaulted ceilings.    It's relatively new (finished in May 2008), but it's been designed to fit in with the bungalow-style homes in the neighborhood.  The energy bills are VERY low because the insulation, heating and cooling systems, etc. have all been installed with materials and methods that make them efficient, and it also has Energy Star appliances.  It has a dishwasher, washer/dryer, stainless steel appliances, central heating and air, and a large, temperature-regulated crawl space.  The front yard also features raised beds for a vegetable garden.

The place is only 1.6 miles from the LSRC (close enough to walk/bike), really close to a shuttle stop, within the free safe-ride area, and also close to 9th Street, Brightleaf, the Co-op (across the street), and Whole Foods.

The land that the house is on is owned by the Durham Community Land Trustees http://www.dclt.org/ , and so owning this house is possible even  if you are low-income.

Please e-mail me if you have any questions about the house or about buying a land trust house, or if you would like to see it.

megan.cattau@gmail.com

I am looking to rent out the second bedroom in my 2nd-floor townhouse located on the corner of Anderson St and Chapel Hill Rd, approximately 1.5 miles from Duke's West Campus.

Fully-furnished room with bed, dresser, couch and desk (can be removed if you have your own furnishings). Private bathroom across the hall and plenty of closet space. Spacious, newly-renovated living area with dining room, fully-equipped kitchen and large living room (furnished with a regulation size pool table!). Off-street parking and communal backyard space. Central location in Durham, close to restaurants and grocery stores, and on bus route.

I am a 32-year old PhD student at Duke and spend much time away from home. Rent is $600, which includes all utilities, association fees and high speed wireless Internet.

Contact: Felix at felix.wolfinger@gmail.com or 919-259-4604.

 Some pictures can be seen here: http://picasaweb.google.com/felix.wolfinger/Durham#

Hello folks:

 This is from Charlotte Clark, faculty in the NSOE, and I am posting on behalf of my son, Banks Clark, who will be starting a two-year Master of Theological Studies at the Div School this fall. He would like to find a housemate (or two) for the fall, and I thought I would poll this group as well as the efforts he's making through the Div School. He is actively looking for places, although is happy to join in to an existing house if the opportunity presents itself. If anyone is interested, let me know and I'll put the two of you in touch.

Charlotte (cclark@duke.edu)